Who Created The Paris Agreement

The EU and its Member States are among the approximately 190 parties to the Paris Agreement. The EU officially ratified the agreement on 5 October 2016, allowing it to enter into force on 4 November 2016. For the agreement to enter into force, at least 55 countries, from which at least 55% of global emissions escape, had to deposit their instruments of ratification. Some countries apply different approval procedures depending on the type of international agreement. For example, agreements of great political importance to the country (e.g.B peace treaties) may require the approval of the legislator, but other agreements may require only the approval of the executive. When the agreement received enough signatures on October 5, 2016 to cross the threshold, US President Barack Obama said: „Even if we achieve all the goals. we will only reach part of where we need to go. Other countries have ratified the agreement and it entered into force in 2005. However, the original emissions targets were only extended until 2012, and when it came time to negotiate a second round by 2020, several other developed countries refused to join. The Kyoto Protocol remains technically in force, but its targets cover only a small fraction of global emissions, and no expected future targets are expected. .